Tips getting smaller? Poor service or rough economy?

Posted on April 29, 2008. Filed under: customer service, finance, small business | Tags: , |

The LA Times has a story today about how tip-dependent industries are feeling the pinch.  I have observed this in my salon recently and I can’t say that our level of customer service has decreased, nor can I say that the level of customer satisfaction has decreased.  Have you observed this in your salon?

The economic downturn has cash-strapped customers leaving less.

By Jerry Hirsch, Los Angeles Times Staff Writer
April 29, 2008

Jocelyne Aposaga is a hairstylist who relies on tips for about 20% of her income. As the economy slumps, she has a new survival plan: cut tips.

When Aposaga eats out, she leaves servers a buck or two less than last year. It’s not the service that’s bad, it’s the economy — and a case of what goes around comes around.

  • tips

“I am just not getting paid as much as I used to. It’s not because I am spending more money on gas or other things,” said Aposaga, who works at Aderon Salon in Pasadena.

Amid a tottering economy, rising inflation, increasing unemployment and a housing market meltdown, waiters, beauticians and pet groomers report that customers are growing tightfisted.

Read the rest of the story here.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Tips getting smaller? Poor service or rough economy?”

RSS Feed for Small Salons Comments RSS Feed

Well, shame on her, I’d say. No one can be excused from mistreating someone relying on tips, but she of all people should be sensitive to how her waitress/waiters feel.

If my wallet is light, I order one less drink and add that to the tip. A while back, I was in a diner meeting someone at about 2pm. All we did was drink coffee, and that waitress just kept filling it. We left $20, thought of it as rented space (there were plenty of table so we didn’t keep anyone from having a meal.) The waitress called to us that we forgot our change, thinking we wanted separate checks, and money back. We thanked her for her kindness and great coffee.
I hope she remembers us when Jocelyne stiffs her….
Joe

That’s great advice, Joe. Traditionally if I am feeling light in the wallet, I just stay home. You have given me an interesting new way to cut back while still support my local economy. Thanks!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass
  • To test GenBook

  • Want to keep up with me?

    Add Aura Mae as a Facebook friend.
  • Categories

  • Pages

  • counter create hit

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

