How to pick a location for your business

Posted on May 10, 2008. Filed under: small business, startup | Tags: , , |

When I first opened my salon, I took over the lease of a salon that had bought it’s own building and moved down the street.  I did only basic research on the building and the neighborhood.  I got lucky.

When I moved my salon from the neighborhood we inhabited for 13 years and moved to another, I did more investigating.  I wish I had had this article to go by, as it offers very specific ways of checking out a location.  One thing Tim doesn’t mention that I think is a key for salons: take a look at the people coming and going around the prospective space.  Do they look like your customers?  If your average client shops exclusively from Eddie Bauer, and all the people you see milling about are pierced and tattooed, you might not have the right place!

Check it out.

It’s Not All About Location, Location, Location

by Tim Knox, author of
Everything I Know About Business I Learned from my Mama

No matter what your product or service the key to finding a great location is through good old fashioned legwork. You can use a commercial realtor to help identify potential locations, but you should take it upon yourself to visit each location at different times of the day, on different days of the week, to make sure it’s truly the best location for your particular business.

A location may look great in the morning, but not-so-great in the afternoon; or may have tons of traffic on Monday, but an empty parking lot on Friday. Never judge a location on a single visit. Go there at different times of the day and night, on different days of the week, and observe the flow of traffic. Trust me: you won’t know for sure how good a location is without going through this process.

Read the rest of the article here.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass
  • To test GenBook

  • Want to keep up with me?

    Add Aura Mae as a Facebook friend.
  • Categories

  • Pages

  • counter create hit

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

