Who are My People?

Posted on June 11, 2008. Filed under: resources, small business | Tags: |

I scour the web for articles and conversations that can help My People.

Who are My People?

We are owners and managers of small salons.

But Aura, aren’t there already tons of sources of information for small businesses?

Sure.  There are.  But here is the problem.  Small Business is defined as any business with fewer than 100 employees.  A salon with 75 employees would be considered a LARGE salon!

Many of the articles I stumble across have nuggets of information that are helpful to us, but many are a bit out of our ballpark.

Here’s an example:

Business Week has a small business section (that often has really helpful information) and I was reading an article about positioning that held great promise until it got to the part about the marketing team doing the research for the project.  Here’s the part where my eyes started to glaze over:

From the above analysis you’ll be able to synthesize your opportunities and understand the value chains in your target markets. The result of combining these two outcomes will yield your differentiating attributes, which form your positioning strategy and positioning statement. You can determine the net-net of your positioning statement by filling in the blanks in the exercise below.

Read the entire article here.

Most salon owners did not go to business school.  Yes, I know some of them did, but they are not my target audience!

Much like how I have determined who is my target customer for my salon, I have a target audience for this blog.

The majority of salons worldwide are each staffed by only a handful people.  We have different needs than a business with 50-100 employees.  We are different people with a different perspective.

My goal is to speak to the smallest of us:

  • The little guys.
  • The heart and soul of the American economy.

When you are a little business, you feel like you are in it alone; like you have to struggle to learn everything.  It wears on a person!  If I can help My People feel like they have a friend who seriously cares about their success, I will feel like I have succeeded.

Everything I do: the workshops, the interviews, this blog, I do for My People.

Remember, there are many more of us than there are the big guys, and I am happy to be a voice in the wilderness when you feel lost.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Who are My People?”

RSS Feed for Small Salons Comments RSS Feed

[…] what she writes is relevant to all sectors of the beauty industry. As she says in her post “Who are my people?” – “When you are a little business, you feel like you are in it alone; like you have to […]


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass
  • To test GenBook

  • Want to keep up with me?

    Add Aura Mae as a Facebook friend.
  • Categories

  • Pages

  • counter create hit

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

