Ever wonder what your clients are thinking?

Posted on July 6, 2008. Filed under: customer service | Tags: , |

Occasionally I stumble across stories about people and their DIY hair color disasters.  As I read this woman’s story, I just couldn’t help but be amazed at her determination to find a solution even as things continued to go awry, rather than cutting her losses and waiting for professional help.

I pony-tail it and go BACK to the store. Now I really, really wish I had listened to hubby and just waited to go to the salon on Tuesday. My stylist would have talked me out of blonde, but at least it would have been a color I could wear in public. I get yet another box of color. This time, just a medium brown shade to hopefully hide the hideous mop that is my hair. I am still hopeful it will turn out and I can highlight over it. All would be well with the world.

The end result is not bad…but I will be going to the salon on Tuesday to get my brunette glaze put over this medium brown on the very red side head of mine. The Lord made me brunette, but it can be a little shinier and I won’t have roots, right? Right. Plus if you can believe it, she charges less for the glaze than I spend on my 4 boxes of color. Way to save money, huh?

Read her entire story here.

Now, the question to us, is how do we communicate to our clients that we are often the more economical choice?  How do we teach them that a consistant color experience produces hair that is healthier, shinier, and more likely to stay attched?

What’s your best story about a client who got a wild hair up her butt one weekend?

Zemanta Pixie
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Ever wonder what your clients are thinking?”

RSS Feed for Small Salons Comments RSS Feed

Well, the reason I did not go to salon in the first place is I was searching for a new hairdresser. My girl that I went to for the past 6 years did a great job…but last time I went to her she misunderstood what I wanted and cut my hair a few inches shorter than I wanted. I did give her another chance after that, and it seemed she was scared to even layer it when I just asked her to leave the length and do whatever else she needed to do.

Sometimes it is not about the money. I thought that was a benefit, but the main reason I tried to do-it-myself was a fear that it would not turn out how I envisioned if I waited to go to the salon. And did I mention I am impatient/too excited to get my hair done to wait at times?

I am giving my old girl one more try. Here’s hoping my hair does not get chopped off on Tuesday…

Miss 3 H, I really hope your hair has a happy ending! I am so glad you stopped by to give our readers here (small salon owners) some more insight. We really want to offer great customer service and be a place where people like you can lay your trust. If you have more to share, please feel free, your insight is more than welcome.

I put this on my blog, but here is the ultimate reason I was switching salons. When my hairstylist cut my hair wayyy shorter than I expected, she said “Well, it still looks cute”. Um, not the point! It was not what I wanted. Had she said she was sorry or “OMG, I really thought this was exactly what you said” or something, that would have been different. But she kept making excuses and trying to make me think it was cute.

She is better with longer hair. Now that my hair has grown for 5 months, I am ready to give her another shot. I’ll let you know how tomorrow goes, although she is out of the country and the owner is gonna do my hair this time. Probably for the best though, my hair can grow even more before she gets back! LOL


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Alltop, confirmation that I kick ass
  • To test GenBook

  • Want to keep up with me?

    Add Aura Mae as a Facebook friend.
  • Categories

  • Pages

  • counter create hit

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

